Localised Video of Shit

c

In discussions of my previous piece (Localised Cabinet of Inspiration) it was noted that I am very passionate and interested in the topics of Instagram, and the act of engaging the audience.

IMG_6320

Whilst in conversations, my contextual knowledge of this type of art was sound, but it wasn’t able to come across in the presentation of my installations. To combat this, I began to consider presenting my work in a different format such as in a video, or performance. In doing this, my passion and knowledge of the subject matter could shine through, and the installations would finally be activated as a work of art.

And so I filmed an informational video on the Localised installation, as the work had a lot of smaller details which were often overlooked by the audience. The intention of this work was to be a piece of video art, rather than a performance. I wanted to test out the video editing features, and to ease myself into speaking about my practice. I also decided to film the video with no written script, as to keep it natural. However, I found it hard to be serious about my work, and began reciting a satirical and cynical commentary on the individual images presented within the installation. I was happy with this outcome, as it came naturally to me to be insulting about my own work, and people found it rather humourous! I want my work to be taken seriously as a fun and silly piece of art.

After reviewing the finalised video, I noticed that I unwittingly drew similarities to performance artist Andrea Fraser. After some initial research, I found her to be a fascinating artist who embodies the type of art I wish to create. Her gallery critique by creating over the top personas really speaks to me as an artist. To further my practice, I will research her motivations and inspirations, and methods of critique in order to incorporate her influence into my next pieces.

Museum Highlights: A Gallery Talk 1989 by Andrea Fraser born 1965
Andrea Fraser; Museum Highlights: A Gallery Talk, 1989. Video still – video, monitor or projection, colour and sound, duration unconfirmed: 29 minutes.

In terms of the actual making of the video, I carefully chose all aspects of my appearance, from my clothes to the heavy make-up (which I never usually wear!). I chose to do this so I was able to embody this fake, Instagram influencer. Whilst it looks like I made no effort, I actually put a lot of work into the appearance, and this is the irony of Instagram and the natural spontaneity.

ff.png

The persona I embodied was a very uptight and professional presenter of sorts, and I naturally fell into a cynical critique of TV presenters and museum tour guides. I kept the editing of the video simple as to not detract from the actual content. Additionally, I didn’t realise the poor audio quality during filming, and so for my future performances and video pieces I will make sure to use a microphone!


2 thoughts on “Localised Video of Shit

Leave a comment